NC State's Wilson and Concepcion receive highest honors in ACC football ::

NC State’s Wilson and Concepcion receive highest honors in ACC football ::

Payton Wilson, a linebacker for NC State, has been named the best defensive player in the ACC.

It is now official.

On Wednesday evening, the ACC announced its top honors. Wilson was the clear winner for defensive player of the year, while teammate KC Concepcion was selected as the league’s rookie of the year.

Jordan Travis, the quarterback for Florida State, was awarded the title of Offensive Player of the Year and narrowly beat out Wilson for the overall player of the year award by a score of 31 to 25.

Since 1993, only two NC State players have received the conference’s defensive player of the year recognition – defensive end Bradley Chubb in 2007 and linebacker Levar Fisher in 2000. Wilson is now the third player from NC State to earn this honor.

On Tuesday, the All-ACC teams were announced and Wilson from Orange High School received the highest number of points. Wilson is also a finalist for national awards recognizing the top defensive player and linebacker.

He topped the ACC in tackles with a total of 138, which included six sacks. Wilson also had three interceptions, six pass breakups, and one touchdown.

Concepcion, a new student from Charlotte, is the 10th player from NC State to receive the conference’s freshman of the year title, making him the first since quarterback Russell Wilson in 2008.

Concepcion was the leading offensive contributor for the Wolfpack, making 64 receptions for 767 yards and scoring 10 touchdowns. He also had 38 rushing attempts for 297 yards. Concepcion had five games with two touchdowns in the last eight games of the season, including a standout performance against UNC with seven catches, 131 yards, and two touchdowns.

Concepcion has decided to continue his education at NC State for his second year.

Concepcion is among the list of NC State players who have been named ACC Rookie of the Year, including Russell Wilson (2008), T.A. McLendon (2002), Philip Rivers (2000), Koren Robinson (1999), Ray Robinson (1998), Jesse Campbell (1988), Ray Agnew (1986), Joe McIntosh (1981), and Ted Brown (1975).

In 2022, Drake Maye, the quarterback for North Carolina, was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Maye, who was also selected as a second-team All-ACC member, placed fourth in this year’s voting.

The awards were determined by a panel of 51 media members and 14 head coaches from the league.

The Player of the Year award is given to the top performer in a particular sport for a given year.

The recipient of the Player of the Year award is chosen based on their exceptional performance in a specific sport during a specific year.

The award for Player of the Year is presented to the athlete who has demonstrated the highest level of skill and success in a specific sport during a specific year.
Jordan Travis – Florida State (31)

NC State’s Payton Wilson is ranked number 25.
Malik Washington – Virginia (4)
Drake Maye – North Carolina (3)

Jeremiah Trotter Jr. is a student at Clemson University.

Player who has displayed the most offensive prowess throughout the year.

Florida State’s Jordan Travis, who wears the number 42, has received all notifications and comments in English.
Malik Washington – Virginia (12)
Drake Maye – North Carolina (8)
Jawhar Jordan – Louisville (1)
Omarion Hampton – North Carolina (1)

The recipient of the Defensive Player of the Year award.

The player from North Carolina State with the jersey number 58 is Payton Wilson.
Ashton Gillotte – Louisville (3)

Jeremiah Trotter Jr., a player for Clemson University, was selected as the second overall pick in the draft.

Kalen DeLoach attends Florida State University.

Voting for Rookie of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Kevin Concepcion, also known as KC, attended NC State and wore the number 44.

Rueben Baine, Jr. – Miami (12)

Eric Singleton, Jr. – Georgia Tech (4)

Anthony Colandrea – Virginia (2)

Khalil Barnes – Clemson (2)


The player who has achieved the most success in their first year in the league.

Kevin “KC” Concepcion – NC State (54)

Eric Singleton, Jr. – Georgia Tech (5)

Anthony Colandrea – Virginia (4)

Francis Mauigoa – Miami (1)

Rookie of the Year for Defense.

Rueben Bain, Jr. – Miami (31)

Khalil Barnes – Clemson (14)

T.J. Parker from Clemson with a ranking of 8.

Samuel Okunlola – Pitt (4)

Kam Robinson – Virginia (4)

Conrad Hussey from Florida State, with a rank of 3.