Mount Tabor's Jordan Wolverton secures victory for the 4A boys indoor track state title.

Mount Tabor’s Jordan Wolverton secures victory for the 4A boys indoor track state title.

On Friday evening, Mount Tabor claimed victory at the N.C. High School Athletic Association 4A boys indoor track & field state championship, marking their first indoor title for boys since 2002.

Mount Tabor’s victory at JDL Fast Track in Winston-Salem ended Cuthbertson’s consecutive state championship reign in boys indoor track.

Mount Tabor’s sole top-ranking achievement came from Jordan Wolverton, who secured a gold medal in the high jump with a height of 6-08.00. He surpassed Cuthbertson’s Tommy Pringle II, who reached a height of 6-04.00.

Wolverton was awarded the Most Outstanding Performer title and placed second in the long jump with a distance of 22-09.25. The gold medal for the long jump was earned by William Leak from Hoke County with a distance of 22-10.00.

Mount Tabor’s 4×400 meter relay team, consisting of Rance Springs, Ezra Blair, Jaeden Johnson, and Andrew Riley, earned a second-place finish with a time of 3:25.43. Hough’s Morris Johnson, Wyatt Stoner, Colin Dickey, and Tim Brown took first place and the gold medal with a time of 3:24.60.

Weddington placed second in the team rankings, only trailing Mount Tabor by three points.

Weddington earned two top spots. Eli Clark claimed victory in the pole vault against Wakefield’s Jack Tan, while Hunter Bates narrowly defeated Logan Hill from Charlotte Catholic by less than 0.7 seconds in the 1000 meter run.

At the 4A state meet, Clayton’s C.J. Martin broke the record for the 300 meter race with a time of 34.36 seconds. Micah Walker from Parkland came in second place, but also surpassed the previous record by one-hundredth of a second.

The 4×800 meter relay team from Green Hope achieved a new state record. Sebastian Percival Shim, Seamus O’Driscoll, Gabriel Cardenas, and Dax Mahone finished in 7:55.99, surpassing the previous record by over one second.

Jordan Wolverton and Ian Mas, both from Mount Tabor and Weddington respectively, have been chosen to receive the NCHSAA Sportsmanship Award.

Boys Pole Vault for 4A Division

1. Eli Clark (Weddington) – 15-00.00

2. Jack Tan (Wakefield) – 14-06.00

3. Andrew Riley (Mount Tabor) – 14-00.00

The high jump event for boys in the 4A division.

1. Jordan Wolverton (Mount Tabor) – 6-08.00

2. Tommy Pringle II (Cuthbertson) – 6-04.00

3. Alexander Chapman-Evans (Enloe) – 06-02.00

Long Jump event for Boys in Division 4A

1. William Leak (Hoke County) – 22-10.00

Jordan Wolverton from Mount Tabor had a score of 22-09.25.

Andrew Davis from Ardrey Kell High School scored 22 feet and 7 inches in the long jump event.

4A Boys Triple Jump

1. Jayden Wentz (Olympic) – 46-08.00

2. Alexander Chapman-Evans (Enloe) – 46-02.00

3. Keziah Williams (Chambers) – 44-02.75

Boys’ Shot Put for 4A Division

1. Cooper Williams (Davie County) – 58-06.25

2. Kolton Weaver (Weddington) – 56-05.25

3. Christopher Stewart (Weddington) – 56-04.25


55 Meter Hurdles for 4A Boys

Desmond Smith from Hillside has a score of 7.37.

James Coleman from Chapel Hill has a record of 7.37.

3. Jordan Wolverton (Mount Tabor) – 7.53

55 Meter Dash for 4A Boys

1. Brandon Harris (Reagan) – 6.31

2. Anthony Boykin (Enloe) – 6.41

3. Tyson Williams (Mallard Creek) – 6.42

800 Meter Relay for Boys in Division 4A

1. Green Hope (Sebastian Percival Shim, Seamus O’Driscoll, Gabriel Cardenas, Dax Mahone) – 7:55.99

2. Marvin Ridge (Michael Keller, David Rivlin, Ishan More, Kyle Barney) – 7:57.76

The team consisting of James Lightfoot, Rohin Patel, Justin Bevacqua, and Charlie Schihl, also known as Cuthbertson, completed their task in 8 minutes and 6.56 seconds.

The 1600 meter run for the 4A category of boys.

Luke Liming from Cary finished the race in 4 minutes and 15.86 seconds.

The 4:16.31 time was achieved by Will Venable (Broughton) in event 2.

3. Tate Shore (Reagan) – 4:17.85

Boys 4A 500 Meter Race

The time recorded for Tim Brown (Hough) was 1 minute and 3.69 seconds.

Jamel Brown from Southwest Guilford finished with a time of 1:04.71.

3. Butler’s Josiah Wrice finished in 1 minute and 4.74 seconds.

Boys’ 1000 Meter Run for 4A Division

1. Hunter Bates (Weddington) – 2:31.23

Logan Hill from Charlotte Catholic finished the race in 2 minutes and 31.91 seconds.

Christien Stamp from Southwest Guilford finished the race in 2 minutes and 32.10 seconds.

“Boys 4A 300 Meter Dash”

1. C.J. Martin (Clayton) – 34.36

Micah Walker from Parkland had a time of 34.37.

3. Dominic Harper (Garner) – 34.55

The 3200 meter run for the 4A boys.

1. Luke Liming (Cary) – 9:12.51

2. Raghav Gopalakrishnan (Ardrey Kell) – 9:13.12

3. Andre Michaels (Leesville Road) – 9:20.90

Boys’ 4×400 Meter Relay for 4A Category

1. Hough (Morris Johnson, Wyatt Stoner, Colin Dickey, Tim Brown) – 3:24.60

2. Mount Tabor (Rance Springs, Ezra Blair, Jaeden Johnson, Andrew Riley) – 3:25.43

3. Cuthbertson (Brenden Robbins, James Lightfoot, Carter Waters, Amari Barrow) – 3:25.58

4A Boys 4×200 Meter Relay

“The team from Mallard Creek, consisting of Tyson Williams, Nassor Ashenafi, Mason Kelley, and Travis McFadden, finished their relay race in a time of 1 minute and 30.76 seconds.”

Reagan’s team composed of Brandon Harris, Jerry Summers, Stephone Scales, and Elijah Davis achieved a time of 1 minute and 31.15 seconds.

3. Parkland (Antwan Hughes Jr., Micah Walker, Kobe Mack, Jaylin Bacote) – 1:31.31

1. Mount Tabor – 41

2. Weddington – 38

3. Cuthbertson – 35.14

4. Reagan – 34.64

5. Marvin Ridge – 31.28

6. Mallard Creek – 26

7. Enloe – 23

8. Clayton – 22

T9. Cary – 20

T9. Hough – 20