Here are the 2023-2024 winter sports winners for HSOT Honors

Here are the 2023-2024 winter sports winners for HSOT Honors

Winners for the winter sports awards at HighSchoolOT Honors have been announced for the 2023-2024 season.

Throughout the winter sports season, HighSchoolOT accepted nominations from the public for each of the categories. After the season ended, our committee met and narrowed down the nominations to five finalists in each category.

Once the finalists were announced, the public voted on the winners for more than two weeks. People were allowed to vote once per day in each category.

For elite awards, like the athletes and coaches of the year, nominations are accepted throughout the year. Finalists will be named at the end of the school year and voting will take place after that. Winners of elite awards will be announced in the summer.

Here are the winter sports winners:

Swimming & Diving Awards

Boys Swimmer of the Year

  • Matthew Marsteiner (Leesville Road) — Marsteiner won gold in two events at the 4A state championship earlier this year – the 100 butterfly and the 500 freestyle. He was also the anchor of the the 400 yard freestyle relay team, which took home first place honors, and swam the third leg of the 200 yard medley relay team, which placed third. Marsteiner will swim in college at NC State.

Girls Swimmer of the Year

  • Alexandra Tysinger (Burns) — Tysinger was named the Most Outstanding Swimmer at the 1A/2A state championship this season, winning two gold medals and nearly breaking a state record. Tysinger won first place in the 50 freestyle and the 100 freestyle, which she finished just 0.19 seconds shy of the state record.

Swimming & Diving Coach of the Year

  • Whitney Held (Ardrey Kell) — Ardrey Kell’s boys and girls swimming teams both placed in the top five at the NCHSAA state championships. The boys finished third, while the girls were fifth.

Wrestling Awards

Boys Wrestler of the Year

  • Cam Stinson (Mallard Creek) — Stinson finished off an unbeaten high school career with a 62-0 season and his fourth straight NCHSAA state championship. He won the 126-pound 4A title by pin fall at the 4:29 mark, making him the third wrestler in NCHSAA history to win four state titles in a career. He was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler at the state championship. Stinson’s career record is officially 205-0 and he will wrestle in college at UNC.

Girls Wrestler of the Year

  • Kamilah Brooks (Pasquotank County) — Brooks, a senior at Pasquotank, finished her season with a perfect 53-0 record, winning the 126-pound NCHSAA state championship in February. Her performance also earned her a spot on the inaugural HighSchoolOT All-State Team where she was a first team selection.

Wrestling Coach of the Year

  • Brandon Coggins (Trinity) — Trinity won the NCHSAA 2A dual-team state championship, beating Seaforth 36-31. The championship came one season after the Bulldogs were eliminated in the second round of the playoffs. In the championship match, Trinity recorded three pins. Two weeks later, the Bulldogs fell 2.5 points short of the team title at the individual state championships.

Indoor Track & Field Awards

Boys Indoor Runner of the Year

  • Elijah Cochran (Franklin) — Cochran was named the Most Outstanding Performer at the NCHSAA 3A state championships this season. He placed in the top three in three different events, including second place finishes in the 300 meter race and the 55 meter hurdles, and a third place finish in the long jump. Franklin fell short of a repeat in the team race, finishing second in the standings.

Boys Indoor Field Athlete of the Year

  • Junior Payton-Kimble (Northeastern) — ​Payton-Kimble, a junior at Northeastern, broke his own state record in the shot put, recording a throw of 60 feet and 2.75 inches. His previous record was 55 feet, 9 inches. That won him first place at the NCHSAA 1A/2A state championships, and it put him on the HighSchoolOT all-state team for the second year.

Girls Indoor Runner of the Year

  • Joslyn Hamilton (Rolesville) — Hamilton was the Most Outstanding Performer at the 4A state championship this past season, winning state titles in two events – in the 55 meter dash and in the 55 meter hurdles, where she set a new state record of 7.78 seconds. Hamilton was named to the first team all-state team by HighSchoolOT, and she will run for the University of South Carolina in college.

Girls Indoor Field Athlete of the Year

  • Kori Randle (Garner) — ​Randle won two 4A state championships this past season for the Trojans, placing first in the long jump and the triple jump. She was also named first team all-state in both events by HighSchoolOT.

Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year

  • TeQuille Jackson (Dudley) — ​Under Jackson’s leadership, Dudley’s girls indoor track team won its second straight NCHSAA 3A state championship this season, beating out second place Atkins by 18 points. On the boys side, the Panthers finished third in the 3A championship.

Girls Basketball Awards

Girls Basketball Offensive Player of the Year

  • Zamareya Jones (North Pitt) — ​Jones led North Pitt to the NCHSAA 2A state title this season, averaging 25.4 points per game. She also posted 7.5 rebounds, 5.3 assists, 4.2 steals and 1.6 blocks. Jones was selected for the McDonald’s All-American Game, was a HighSchoolOT All-State selection, and will play college basketball at NC State.

Girls Basketball Defensive Player of the Year

  • Dvdaya Swimmer (Cherokee) — ​Swimmer was a leader for the Braves, which finished the season with a 29-1 overall record and won the NCHSAA 1A state championship by 42 points. Cherokee allowed just 30 points per game this season, and Swimmer was a big factor, including averaging 4.2 steals per game.

Girls Basketball Coach of the Year

  • Nikita Warren (Rolesville) — Warren led Rolesville to the NCHSAA 4A state title this season, capping off a 27-5 season. It was the first time in school history the Rams had advanced that far in the playoffs. Previously, Rolesville had not made it past the fourth round. Rolesville defeated Charlotte Catholic 65-58 in the championship game.

Boys Basketball Awards

Boys Basketball Offensive Player of the Year

  • Isaiah Evans (North Mecklenburg) — ​Evans led North Mecklenburg to the 4A state title this season, posting a 30-3 overall record. Evans, a five-star player, was selected to the McDonald’s All-American Game and the HIghSchoolOT All-State Team. He was named the MVP of the state championship with 23 points and eight rebounds. Evans will play college basketball at Duke.

Boys Basketball Defensive Player of the Year

  • Kendre Harrison (Reidsville) — ​Harrison led Reidsville to a perfect 29-0 record and a NCHSAA 2A state title. Defensively, Harrison averaged 15.1 rebounds and 3.7 blocks per game. He also averaged 19.4 points per game for the Rams. Harrison is a major college prospect in both basketball and football.

Boys Basketball Coach of the Year

  • Daniel Willis (Hickory) — ​Willis led Hickory to a 31-1 season, with the lone loss coming to Central Cabarrus in the 3A state semifinals.