At the 4A cross country championship, Noah Valyo from Athens Drive broke a record while team Marvin Ridge took home the title.

Noah Valyo, a senior at Athens Drive, participated in the NCHSAA 4A state championship for cross country at the Ivey M. Redmon Sports Complex in Kernersville on Saturday. He represented a school that had never before claimed an individual state championship for boys cross country.

Valyo’s name was etched in the NCHSAA record book when he crossed the finish line, marking a significant change.

Valyo finished the race at Ivey Redmon in 15 minutes and 5.45 seconds, setting a new course record that was over seven seconds faster than the previous one set by Connor Lane from Cardinal Gibbons in 2016.

Valyo was just under four seconds away from breaking the state championship record, which was set by Matt Debole from Mount Tabor in 2001.

Valyo had a lead of almost 10 seconds over the second place finisher, Raghav Gopalakrishnan from Ardrey Kell. The senior completed the race in 15:15.20.

Thomas Wlazlowski from Cuthbertson finished in third place with a time of 15:39.32, followed by Connor Tyrrell from Riverside in fourth place with a time of 15:46.36. Will Bradbury from Watauga placed fifth with a time of 15:47.80.

Marvin Ridge claimed the team title with a score of 88, beating Broughton’s second-place finish of 137 points.

David Firestone of Marvin Ridge came in ninth place with a finishing time of 15:52.28. Michael Rivlin placed 20th with a time of 16:09.66.

Broughton’s team ranking in second place was boosted by Will Venable’s 11th place finish. Venable completed the race in 15:56.48.

Results for Individual Runners in the 2023 NCHSAA 4A Boys Cross Country Race

1. Noah Valyo (Athens Drive) – 15:05.45

2. Raghav Gopalakrishnan (Ardrey Kell) – 15:15.20

3. Thomas Wlazlowski (Cuthbertson) – 15:39.32

4. Connor Tyrrell (Riverside) – 15:46.36

The recorded time for Will Bradbury from Watauga was 15 minutes and 47.80 seconds.

6. Albert Turner (East Chapel Hill) – 15:48.29

The time of 15 minutes and 48.40 seconds was achieved by Logan Hill from Charlotte Catholic High School.

8. Tate Shore, also known as Reagan, finished with a time of 15:49.70.

David Firestone from Marvin Ridge ran a time of 15 minutes and 52.28 seconds.

The runner from T.C. Roberson, Will Fiore, finished the race with a time of 15 minutes and 54.55 seconds.

11. Will Venable (Broughton) – 15:56.48

12. Nicholas Gibons (T.C. Roberson) – 15:58.68

“Aedon Schroeder of Hoggard finished with a time of 15 minutes and 59.80 seconds.”

14. Daniel Kelmer (Laney) – 16:00.21

Fifteen-year-old Nicholas Grace from Ardrey Kell High School finished the race with a time of 16 minutes and 2.64 seconds.

NCHSAA 4A Boys Cross Country Team Results for 2023

1. Marvin Ridge – 88

2. Broughton – 137

The score of T.C. Roberson was 148.

4. Ardrey Kell – 155

5. Hoggard – 158

6. Leesville Road – 187

7. Cuthbertson – 255

8. Weddington – 257

9. Reagan – 262

10. Chapel Hill – 269